deCAF

          I like the smell of coffee. . . .
A handful of years ago it tasted too bitter
and my father told me
          that is why
adults always drink it—
          (You are what you eat. . . . )

          I like the smell of coffee. . . .
A couple of hours ago it tasted too bitter
and warm in my hands . . . but I still drank it
among the quiet pages of a book and nothing more
          or less. . . .

          I like the taste of coffee
because it tastes too bitter. . . .
          I am an adult now.
          (And we adults are what we eat.)

And me, well . . .
          I’m allergic to everything.
 
 
12182016
 
 

One comment

Leave a Reply

